Club Only Competitions

We hold various competitions throughout the year to celebrate the diversity and talent of all of the great brewers in our club. Throughout the year we will hold style specific competitions that will be judged by a panel of non participating members and guest judges.

JBG Brewer of the Year Rules 2023 Club Competitions and B.O.Y Points

All competitions will be held and judged at Mad Hatchet Brewing (Shorewood)


Competitions info 2023
                 March: SMaSH beers
                 May: Cereal beers
                 July: Lawnmower beers
                 September: Oktoberfest beers
                 December: Big & Dark
JBG Brewer of The Year Points Opportunities:
                 Drunk Monk
                 Charlie Orr Memorial Competition

Points System

First place: 10 points

Second place: 8 points

Third place: 6 points

Outside competitions

One point for entering, 2 points if entry finishes top 3

March 5th - SMaSH

For the SMaSH Comp, single malt, single hop, single water, single yeast for the summer.

SMaSM Winners
  1. Tina Palanchar
  2.  Joe Froehlich
  3. Greg Steinhouse

May 7th - Cereal Beers

Formally termed breakfast cereal beer (and further categorized as cold cereal beer or warm cereal beer), is a traditional beer for breakfast made from processed cereal grains. It is traditionally drank as part of breakfast, or a snack food, primarily in Western societies.

Cereal Beers Winners
  1. Jason Sullivan
  2. Eva Winslet
  3. Joe Froehlich

July 9th - Lawnmower Beer

For the July Comp, break out the Lawnmower beers that are light and refreshing enough to drink while working in the yard.

Lawnmower Winners
  1. Joe Froehlich
  2. John Palanchar
  3. Tina Palanchar

September 10th - Oktoberfest

For the Oktoberfest Comp, break out the lederhosen, cook a bratwurst and get your homebrew ready an Oktoberfest stein.

Oktoberfest Winners
  1.  Tina Palanchar
  2. John Palanchar
  3. Bill George

December 10th - Big and Dark

The myth... The legend... The mother of all JBG competitions! Brew any style you want as long as it's big (8.5 ABV or higher) and dark (30 SRM or higher)! This competition is where legends are made, so get brewing early. Due Dec 10th before noon (See Facebook for more Details).

Big and Dark Winners

2023 Brewer of the Year Standings

  1. Tina Palanchar 26
  2. Joe Froehlich 24
  3. John Palanchar 16



Previous Brewers of the Year

  • 2022 - Bill George and Joe Froehlich
  • 2021 - Joe Froehlich and Bill George
  • 2020 – Mark Lekovish
  • 2019 – Mike Davidson
  • 2018 - Doug Walling
  • 2017 - Joel Rakoski
  • 2016 - Joel Rakoski
  • 2015 - Jason Janes
  • 2014 - Jason Janes
Brewer of the Year 2018